Dr. med. Peter Lenhart   (*1935   †2013)

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart (1935-2013), Facharzt für Orthopädie, Sportmedizin, Physikalische Therapie, Cheforthopäde der deutschen Olympiamannschaft bei den Olympischen Spielen Barcelona 1992, Verbandsarzt Deutscher Fechterbund 1980-1998

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart was a specialist for orthopedics, sports medicine and physical therapy. He is widely regarded as the mentor of modern sports physiotherapy and was a co-founder of the DOSB (German Olympic Sports Confederation) sports physiotherapy education in the 1970s. As head physician of the highly successful German Fencing Federation, he contributed to sports history at numerous European Championships, World Championships, and Olympic Games.

 

In Dr. Lenhart's MT III technology, which he developed from the beginning of the 2000s and continued to improve until his death, he accumulated his vast knowledge and experience gained in decades of work and research, from his own medical practice as well as from competitive sports.

 

 

As a physician with body and soul, who combined scientific curiosity, a holistic way of looking at humans and a tendency towards unconventional solutions, he was able to radically rethink the concepts of shoe insoles at the end of an unprecedented career. The result - his scientific legacy - was a novel and completely unorthodox form of insole technology, which is based on basic principles of human evolution and thus can achieve the greatest effect with minimal effort.

 

A life in sports

  • Specialist for orthopedics, sports medicine and physical therapy
  • Founder and long-time head of "Private Berufsfachschule Dr. Lenhart für Massage" in Munich
  • Vice President (1974-1998) and President (1998-2010) of the Bavarian Sports Physicians Association
  • Team physician of "TSV 1860 Munich" soccer team 1968-1973
  • Head physician & team physician of the German Fencing Federation (DFeB) 1980-1998
  • Chairman of the teaching board "Sportphysiotherapie im DOSB" 1984-2010
  • Team physician of the German National Fencing team at  numerous international, European and World Championchips, and at the 1988 (Seoul), 1992 (Barcelona) and 1996 (Atlanta) Olympics
  • Chief orthopedist of the entire German Olympic Team at the 1992 summer Olympics in Barcelona
  • Bundesverdienstkreuz (Federal Cross of Merit) am Bande 2008
  • DOSB Badge of Merit for Sports physiotherapy 2010

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart   (*1935   †2013)

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart (1935-2013), Facharzt für Orthopädie, Sportmedizin, Physikalische Therapie, Cheforthopäde der deutschen Olympiamannschaft bei den Olympischen Spielen Barcelona 1992, Verbandsarzt Deutscher Fechterbund 1980-1998

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart war Facharzt für Orthopädie, Sportmedizin und Physikalische Therapie. Er gilt weltweit als Mentor der modernen Sportphysiotherapie und war in den 1970er Jahren Mitbegründer der DOSB-Sportphysiotherapeutenausbildung. Als Verbandsarzt der erfolgreichen deutschen Fechter schrieb er bei zahlreichen Europameisterschaften, Weltmeisterschaften und Olympischen Spielen Sportgeschichte mit.

 

In Dr. Lenhart’s MT III-Technologie, die er ab Anfang der 2000er Jahre entwickelte und bis zu seinem Tod stetig weiter verbesserte, flossen Wissen und Erfahrungen aus jahrzehntelanger Arbeit und Forschung in der eigenen Praxis und im Spitzensport ein.

 

Als Mediziner mit Leib und Seele, bei dem eine vielseitige Neugier, eine ganzheitliche Betrachtungsweise des Menschen und ein Hang zu unkonventionellen Lösungen aufeinandertrafen, konnte er am Ende einer beispiellosen Karriere die bisherigen Konzepte von Schuheinlagen radikal überdenken. Ergebnis war eine neuartige und komplett unorthodoxe Form von Einlage, die auf Grundprinzipien der menschlichen Evolution zurückgreift und so mit minimalem Aufwand größte Wirkung erzielen kann.

 

Ein Leben für den Sport

  • Facharzt für Orthopädie, Sportmedizin und Physikalische Therapie
  • Gründer und langjähriger Leiter der staatlich anerkannten „Privaten Berufsfachschule Dr. Lenhart für Massage“ in München
  • Vizepräsident (1974-1998) und Präsident (1998-2010) des Bayerischen Sportärzteverbandes
  • Mannschaftsarzt TSV 1860 München 1968-1973
  • Verbandsarzt Deutscher Fechterbund (DFeB) 1980-1998
  • Vorsitzender des Lehrstabes „Sportphysiotherapie im DOSB“ 1984-2010
  • Mannschaftsarzt DFeB, u.a. bei zahlreichen WM, EM sowie den Olympischen Spielen 1988 in Seoul, 1992 in Barcelona, 1996 in Atlanta
  • Cheforthopäde der gesamten Deutschen Olympiamannschaft bei den Olympischen Sommerspielen 1992 in Barcelona
  • Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande 2008
  • DOSB Ehrennadel für Verdienste um die Sportphysiotherapie 2010