With the upright gait, *everything* began...

The emerging of the upright, permanently bipedal gait and the associated anatomical changes are, without a doubt, the most striking and probably the most decisive evolutionary steps our ancestors have made on their way to modern man. As we know today, they have clearly preceded most other physical, social, and cultural developments in the process of hominization.

 

For example, fossil finds of Australopithecus afarensis (the last direct ancestors of Homo) still show clearly primitive, ape-like traits in terms of brain size, head, breast and upper limb. At the same time, spine, pelvis, leg, knee and foot are already clearly human-like, and clear indications of a locomotional pattern already very similar to our own - more than three million years ago.

 

"The structure of the human musculoskeletal system is the result of a billionfold adaptation to its surroundings. The development of the walking-foot was the central part of leaving the arboreal habitat and developing the upright gait.

An efficient cross-bracing of the foot was indispensable for the stabilization of the erected bipedal body. Thus, the arch of foot, the plantar aponeurosis, the Mm. peronei and the M. vastus medialis (of M. quadriceps femoris), were developed.

It is precisely these structures that are positively influenced by MT III technology, which in turn – via the functional chain – have an effect on the whole body, up to neck and head.

By helping the body to regain its original evolutionary determined upright posture, it can counteract numerous medical conditions resulting from a disorder of the human body's erection."

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart

(*1935 †2013)

 

3.6 million year old footprints of A. afarensis in petrified volcanic ash, that have been found in Laetoli (Tanzania) in 1976, testify in astonishing immediacy, how the gait of A. afarensis was already very similar to that of modern man - a million years before the first stone tools emerged.

Cast replica @ National Mus. of Nature & Science, Tokyo.     Image: Momotarou2012 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)]
Cast replica @ National Mus. of Nature & Science, Tokyo. Image: Momotarou2012 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)]

Mit der Aufrichtung fing *alles* an...

Das Entstehen des aufrechten, dauerhaft zweibeinigen Ganges und die damit verbundenen anatomischen Veränderungen sind zweifelsohne die augenfälligsten und vermutlich entscheidendsten Entwicklungsschritte, die unsere Vorfahren auf dem Weg zum modernen Menschen durchgemacht haben. Wie man heute weiß, gingen sie den allermeisten körperlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Entwicklungen im Prozeß der Hominisation voraus. 

 

So weisen fossile Funde von Australopithecus afarensis (die Gattung, aus der sich wohl später die Gattung Homo entwickelte) in puncto Gehirngröße, Kopfform, Brust und oberer Extremität noch deutlich primitive, affenähnliche Züge auf. Gleichzeitig sind Wirbelsäule, Becken, Bein, Knie und Fuß hier schon klar menschenähnlich, und deutliche Hinweise auf eine Fortbewegung, die bereits der unseren glich - vor mehr als drei Millionen Jahren. 

"Die Struktur des menschlichen Bewegungsapparates ist Ergebnis milliardenfacher Anpassung an seine Umgebung. Zentral beim Verlassen des Lebensraums Baum und bei der Entwicklung des aufrechten Ganges war die Weiterentwicklung des Greiffußes zum Gehfuß.

Für die Stabilisierung des aufgerichteten und nur mehr zweifüßigen Körpers war eine effiziente Querverstrebung des Fußes unabdingbar. So entwickelten sich das Fußgewölbe, die Plantaraponeurose, die Fußaußenrandheber (Mm. peronei) und der Vastus medialis des M. quadriceps femoris.

Genau diese Strukturen werden durch die MT III-Technologie positiv beeinflußt – und wirken wiederum über die funktionale Kette auf den gesamten Körper, bis hinauf zu Schulter, Arm, Hand, Hals und Kopf.

Indem die MT III-Einlage dem Körper wieder zur ursprünglich evolutionär angelegten Aufrichtung verhilft, kann sie zahlreichen Beschwerden entgegenwirken, die aus einer Störung dieser Aufrichtung resultieren."

 

Dr. med. Peter Lenhart

(*1935  †2013)

 

3,6 Millionen Jahre alte Fußspuren von A. afarensis in versteinerter Vulkanasche, die man 1976 in Laetoli (Tansania) fand, bezeugen in verblüffender Unmittelbarkeit, wie der Gang von A. afarensis im wesentlichen bereits dem des heutigen Menschen glich - mehr als eine Million Jahre vor dem Auftauchen der ersten Steinwerkzeuge:

Abguß im National Mus. of Nature & Science, Tokyo.     Bild: Momotarou2012 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)]
Abguß im National Mus. of Nature & Science, Tokyo. Bild: Momotarou2012 [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)]